Aragorn Personality Type

Learn all about the personality type of Aragorn, including personality traits and frequently asked questions.

Who is Aragorn?

Aragorn, also known as Strider, is a central character in J.R.R. Tolkien’s epic fantasy novel, “The Lord of the Rings.”

Born as the rightful heir to the thrones of both Gondor and Arnor, Aragorn is initially introduced as a mysterious ranger from the North, who lives a life of humility, choosing to hide his royal lineage.

Known for his wisdom, courage, and leadership skills, Aragorn is a quintessential hero who embodies honor, loyalty, and selflessness.

He is a skilled swordsman and tracker, hardened by years of battling the dark forces that threaten Middle Earth.

Despite his rugged exterior, Aragorn is kind-hearted, with a profound respect for all life, seen through his compassion for the Hobbits and his deep love for Arwen, an Elven princess.

As the narrative progresses, he reluctantly accepts his destiny as King Elessar, leading the armies of Men in the fight against the dark lord Sauron, showing his resilience, humility, and sense of duty.

His character represents the struggle between self-doubt and true potential, showing that greatness often lies within those who least expect it.

Aragorn Personality Type

What personality type is Aragorn?

Aragorn, as portrayed in J.R.R. Tolkien’s “The Lord of the Rings,” embodies many qualities that align with the INFJ (Introverted, Intuitive, Feeling, Judging) personality type in the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI).

As an INFJ, Aragorn is introspective and thoughtful, often keeping to himself and observing situations before acting, as seen in his initial portrayal as the reserved Ranger, Strider.

His intuitive nature is evident in his ability to understand and navigate complex situations, often predicting outcomes and devising strategies that save the Fellowship from numerous perils.

His ‘Feeling’ attribute is showcased through his empathetic, compassionate nature, his deep love for Arwen, and his commitment to his friends.

His ‘Judging’ side emerges in his organized and structured approach towards achieving his goals, such as uniting the peoples of Middle-Earth to defeat Sauron.

Regarding his alignment with the Enneagram Type Six with a Five Wing (The Defender), Aragorn’s character is driven by a deep sense of loyalty, a key trait of Sixes.

He is dutiful and committed to his responsibilities, always prioritizing the well-being and safety of his companions and kingdom, even when it means personal sacrifice.

His reliability, caution, and strategic planning also resonate with this type. The Five Wing (“The Investigator”) adds a layer of curiosity and independence.

Aragorn’s skills as a Ranger, his wisdom, and his knowledge of the history and lore of Middle-Earth are characteristics that reflect this.

This combination paints a picture of a character who is both deeply loyal and independent, always in search of knowledge, and ready to use that knowledge in the service of others.

5 Aragorn Personality Traits

So, what are some of the personality traits of Aragorn?

  1. Leadership
  2. Wisdom
  3. Humility
  4. Bravery
  5. Compassion

Let’s take a look at these personality traits in more detail:

1. Leadership

Aragorn possesses a strong, natural leadership style, often stepping up to guide and direct the Fellowship on their quest.

Despite his initial reluctance, his ability to inspire and lead others is evident in his strategic planning, decision-making, and rallying speeches, particularly during the War of the Ring.

His leadership is underscored by his charisma, courage, and dedication to his duty.

2. Wisdom

Aragorn’s wisdom is one of his defining traits.

Through his deep understanding of the world, borne out of his extensive travels and experiences, he provides counsel and guidance to his companions.

His wisdom also extends to his understanding of people, as he often perceives truths that others overlook, contributing to his effective leadership.

3. Humility

Despite being the rightful heir to the throne of Gondor, Aragorn initially chooses to live a humble life as a Ranger.

He doesn’t seek personal glory or power but prioritizes the safety and welfare of Middle-Earth.

This humility is maintained even after he embraces his destiny as king, as he continues to treat everyone with respect and kindness, irrespective of their rank or status.

4. Bravery

Throughout the “The Lord of the Rings,” Aragorn consistently exhibits bravery.

He faces dangers head-on, whether it be challenging Sauron through the Palantir, leading the charge against the forces of Mordor, or walking the Paths of the Dead.

His courage is not just physical but also moral, as he is willing to make personal sacrifices for the greater good.

5. Compassion

Aragorn shows a great deal of compassion throughout the series.

He displays kindness and understanding toward the Hobbits, respects all creatures of Middle-Earth, and harbors a deep, enduring love for Arwen.

This compassion extends even to his enemies, showing his regard for all life.

Aragorn FAQs

Who is Aragorn in “The Lord of the Rings”?

Aragorn, also known as Strider, is a primary character in J.R.R. Tolkien’s “The Lord of the Rings”.

He is the rightful heir to the thrones of Gondor and Arnor but initially lives a humble life as a Ranger.

As the story progresses, he accepts his destiny, leading the armies of Men against Sauron, and eventually becomes King Elessar of the Reunited Kingdom.

Why does Aragorn go by the name ‘Strider’?

Aragorn uses the alias ‘Strider’ to hide his true identity as the heir of Isildur, keeping a low profile while living as a Ranger in the North.

This pseudonym reflects his lifestyle and abilities as a wanderer and skilled tracker.

The Hobbits first know him by this name when they meet him at the Prancing Pony Inn in Bree.

Who does Aragorn love?

Aragorn is deeply in love with Arwen Undómiel, an Elven princess and the daughter of Elrond, lord of Rivendell.

Despite the trials and tribulations their love faces, given their differing races and destinies, their bond remains strong.

Arwen eventually chooses a mortal life to be with Aragorn, signifying the depth of their love.

What is Aragorn’s sword called?

Aragorn’s sword is named Andúril, which means “Flame of the West” in Sindarin, a fictional language in Tolkien’s Middle-earth.

The sword is reforged from the shards of Narsil, the sword of his ancestor Isildur, who cut the One Ring from Sauron’s hand.

Andúril becomes a symbol of hope and resistance against Sauron’s forces.

How does Aragorn become king?

Aragorn becomes king by embracing his destiny as the rightful heir to the thrones of Gondor and Arnor.

After leading the forces of Men to victory in the War of the Ring, the people of Gondor accept him as their king.

He is crowned as King Elessar, uniting the realms of Gondor and Arnor into the Reunited Kingdom.

Discover Your Personality Type Today →